Finger Lakes Health’s College of Nursing Celebrates 2011 Pinning and Graduation Ceremonies

The Finger Lakes Health College of Nursing graduated its second class with a pinning ceremony and commencement exercises in late May. Twenty-eight students were pinned and graduated this year.

The pinning ceremony took place on the Friday before the Sunday commencement. The pinning occurred at the Ramada Inn – Geneva Lakefront, with the commencement ceremony at The Smith Opera House in Geneva.

Donald P. Wertman, Chair of the Finger Lakes Health Board of Directors welcomed students to the commencement ceremony. Dr. Jose Acevedo, President & CEO, Finger Lakes Health gave the President’s Address. Susan Conrey, MS, RN, Finger Lakes Health, gave the keynote address. Other speakers included Dr. Jason Feinberg, Chief Medial Officer, Finger Lakes Health who gave a congratulatory message, and class president, Angela Cristanti. Donald P. Wertman presented diplomas, assisted by Lara Chatel Turbide, Vice President, Community Services, Finger Lakes Health.

Presenting special awards were Victoria Record, MS, RN, Dean of the college, and Mary Donahue, MS, RN, C.N.E. program coordinator. The Academic Achievement Award for the highest academic achievement in the nursing program was presented to two students: Kristena Clark of Palmyra and Angela Crisanti of Geneva. Receiving the Clinical Practice Award for outstanding service in medical and surgical nursing was Meg Barrus Auria of Victor; and receiving the Geriatric Practice Award for outstanding service in geriatric nursing was Kelly O’Mara of Waterloo.

The Patricia Schillaci Memorial Award for the graduate nurse, who has demonstrated the ability to couple technology with caring, compassionate nursing care, was presented to Tammy Healy of Stanley.

Debra Crane of Palmyra received the College of Nursing Class Choice Award, presented to the graduate nurse who demonstrated principles of relationship-based care by creating healthy relationships with the people he or she works with and cares for, selected by class vote.

The Outstanding Student Achievement award, given to the graduate nurse who has demonstrated consistent commitment and growth in the academic and clinical setting, was awarded to Teresa Fitzpatrick of Canandaigua and Antonella Gentile of Geneva.

Debra Crane was the recipient of the Florence Nightingale Award, presented to the graduate nurse who demonstrates a spirit to improve the healthcare environment. The Heart of Nursing Award recognizing a graduate nurse who has consistently shown enthusiasm and the spirit of nursing was presented to Dolores Cringoli-Bleier of Palmyra.

The Student Engagement Award, presented to the graduate nurse who demonstrates the five C’s: Clarity, Competency, Confidence, Collaboration and Commitment leading to the ability to adapt to a change healthcare environment, was awarded to Kelly Long of Geneva and Kristena Clark of Palmyra.

Finger Lakes Health College of Nursing graduates for 2011 are: Meg Barrus Auria of Victor; Brooke Beniamino, Carrie Budd, Michele DeYoung, Timothy DeYoung, Francesca Fratto, and Kelly O’Mara of Waterloo; Kristy Breckenridge of Penn Yan; Jennifer Carroll of Willard; Kristena Clark, Debra Crane, Dolores Cringoli-Bleier, Tammy Trout of Palmyra; Angela Crisanti, Antonella Gentile, Kelly Long, Yolanda Petocchi, Renee Rose, Danielle Strally of Geneva; Teresa Fitzpatrick of Canandaigua; Kelly Geiwitz of Wolcott; Jennifer Hawley of Seneca Castle; Tammy Healy of Stanley; Ashley Raponi of Interlaken; Annemarie Rivaldo-Lindner of Williamson; and Paula Vega of Romulus; Amy Wilcox of Clyde, and Angela Wodarski of Dundee.